I know I'm supposed to "volunteer" at a hospital- but what does that mean?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DLiebz

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, sorry if this post is redundant since I imagine it's not a very original question. If it is redundant, please feel free to point me in the direction of a pre-existing thread- I just couldn't find it...

I'm a rising sophomore at Brandeis University, thinking premed and therefore doing pre-medy things like getting good grades, getting involved on campus, and making friends with teachers. I'm currently taking an EMT course which should be complete mid june which will enable me to work as an EMT-B for my on-campus EMS service. All that aside, I've heard a million times how important "clinical" experience and hospital volunteering is, but I just went to my local hospital's website (Fletcher Allen in Burlington Vt) and I'm a bit confused. The "volunteer" opportunities listed are things entertaining kids in the waiting room, entering data into computors, and making gifts for sick patients. While noble activities I'm sure, how do these count as "clinical" experience? These volunteer positions do nothing to give me a view of the medical field, and I don't see how they'll help with med school applications. Am I missing something? Do people mean something else when they say to "volunteer"? And if so, how do I get into these programs? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.