I met with my pre-health advisor today I want to know if what he said true

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lanig91

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
First of all I'm a sophomore psychology major.
My pre-health advisor while he didn't actually tell me to switch majors it was implied.
He said that even if I had a 4.0 as a psych major that it will still look "average" and will not look as good as say a 3.4 bio major or a 3.0 engineering major.
He also said that A and B students probably won't score higher than a 24 on the MCAT because they are "average" test takers.
He also said that people with lower GPA's who worked full time and volunteered will look better than those with higher GPA's who didn't work full time.
Also, he said if I didn't take anatomy I have no hope of getting a good bio score.
He emphasized that verbal is the most important section.

My question is, is my major really that much of a problem?
Also I have no time to take anatomy because i want to take my MCAT summer before senior year and next year I have to finish up my prereqs with Orgo and Physics.
Also is anything else he said true?

Members don't see this ad.

Literally every single thing he said is completely wrong.

Don't worry about taking anatomy, keep your psych major, and don't talk to him anymore unless you need a committee letter or something (at the very least only pretend to listen to him.)

Thank you =) And I do believe he's on the committee to write the recommendation letter.
He just made me feel horrible about myself

Members don't see this ad :)
My pre-health advisor while he didn't actually tell me to switch majors it was implied.
Disregard this suggestion. Stick with the major that interests you.

He said that even if I had a 4.0 as a psych major that it will still look "average" and will not look as good as say a 3.4 bio major or a 3.0 engineering major.