I might seriously give up..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AspiringPublicHealthVet

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am a recent veterinary graduate (outside of the US). I worked for a short while in private practice and disliked it. I constantly felt like I had tunnel vision in the clinic. I very much prefer work on a large scale, and something that benefits humans AND animals....that is why I decided to pursue vet public health. I am particularly interested in health education and communication, as well as capacity building in developing countries. The MPH programmes in the US seem good and all-encompassing.

However, whenever I keep searching for public health jobs, the results ALWAYS throw up jobs in the US state departments. I don't even qualify for these jobs because I'm not American. The international jobs also end up being traced back to the USA. If I actually did get the MPH, I foresee myself being limited to just my (tiny) country's state department....so very narrow range of jobs.

Just feeling grumpy at the moment. It looks like there isn't that great a need for public health veterinarians as people claim, if only Americans are able to pursue that field...I honestly think that the market is being monopolised. Does anyone know of places that hire which don't require US citizenship? :(

Members don't see this ad.

A lot of people get an MPH in the U.S., it is kind of a soft degree as it kind of introduces people to public health, though you may not get any hot in demand hard skills, and even people with an MPH in the U.S. struggle to find work, and may not end up in public health.

The US government creates a market for public health workers when the US taxpayers and voters decided that we need, for example, a public system in the US, or to do research in a public health field, such as zoonotic diseases.