I need advice..Badly.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MariaJelice

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an incoming freshman going to a RN nursing program at a community college. Becoming a nurse isn't my passion, I really want to be a cardiovascular surgeon. I'm just afraid and want some kind of fall back if I fail to become a surgeon.

My Plan.

1.Go into the RN nursing program for 3 years.
2.Then go into a university and take Pre-Med?
3.Then go into Medical school and try to become a doctor and specialize.

Is this a good idea? Or am I being a terrified baby?
Any advice is appreciated.
Thank you so much. :]

Members don't see this ad.

If you don't want to be a nurse, don't waste your time in a nursing program studying things that you don't care about.

I am an incoming freshman going to a RN nursing program at a community college. Becoming a nurse isn't my passion, I really want to be a cardiovascular surgeon. I'm just afraid and want some kind of fall back if I fail to become a surgeon.

My Plan.

If you're set on attempting to go to medical school, I wouldn't advise going to RN school unless you are in no hurry whatsoever. You will probably have to do at least 2 years of medical school prerequisites after RN school. Even then, you would be rushed due to MCAT, apps, etc. If it took 3 years, you have 6 years of RN school/pre reqs until you would enter med school.

I would advise majoring in something you are interested in (and that you think you could make a career out of) while you take the med pre reqs. You could major in English, any science, etc. (really whatever you'd like and you can fit in the pre reqs).

It's up to you ultimately, but going to RN school if you don't want to be a nurse isn't a great idea in my opinion.

Members don't see this ad :)