• Pharmacy Job Market Webinar

Are you considering applying to pharmacy school but are concerned about job prospects when you graduate? Join us on Wednesday, July 28th at 8 PM Eastern to hear from three PharmDs about their experiences and options outside of retail pharmacy.

Vanguard23

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Sep 5, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Namely on my likelihood of getting into medical school; I ask here because most of you are my peers and are in the loop, med school app. wise. Texas pre-med students' opinions are really preferable since that is the state I am in and will be applying.
Ok, I started off college rather blandly. Senioritis and all that for first couple of years. Made B's that could have easily been A's, mostly because of being absent and didn't take the course load I should have for whatever reason arose.
However, I got my act together around summer of 04 and have picked up since then. I work as a Pharmacy tech at a hospital where I have gotten familiarity with the drugs(no,not by taking them), procedures of the hospital, reading doctors' orders(I'm thinking of teaching a course in cryptography) and been on dozens of cardiac and respiratory codes where I've watched trauma/ER physicians perform cardiac and respiratory codes. I've seen many people die on these, sometimes with the family present; I think that should be noted on a personal statement as a form of clinical experience and how I dealt with casualties.

I am in a research program and have been for about a year. It's headed by an MD, so that is sort of considering shadowing, whenever I meet with him.

Volunteer-wise I've done moderately, I would say. I have done some volunteer work at my hospital, some at a center for children with disabilities(autism, muscular dystrophy, etc) and some mentoring at a middle school near my uni. I'm also in AMSA and have been the SGA rep for a semester and plan on running for President or VP for Fall. Nothing special.