This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pale Flower

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello there,

I hope everyone is doing well

I’m a middle-eastern final-year medical student who admires Latin culture (music/dance/traditional clothing and food) and wishes to apply for residency in a Latin country (in either one of the following specialties: ophthalmology, dermatology, ENT, paediatrics, or family medicine).

Although a lot of people will argue that US or Canadian boards are the best in any specialty but since I’ve been going through major depression that wiped away 90% of my ambition and will to live, I thought of involving the things I love into my vision to the future, the things that brings happiness to my soul… regardless of how others view it… And that includes learning Spanish (at least to be able to understand all my favourite songs that I dance so hard to! haha) and live in a Latin community.

I don’t mind spending a year or so to learn the language.

I have talked to one latin friend and asked her to recommend me a country to start a new chapter of my life in, and she suggested Argentina, Costa Rica, and/or Chile. And when I wondered why not Spain, she answered with "only 4% of international graduates are accepted there yearly, so it’s time consuming although MIR exam is not that hard”

Is that true?

What do you guys think is best for me in terms of low crime rate, ease of application process, living costs, friendless of locals? (although I’m pretty sure that almost all Latinos have this kindness gene in their blood haha!)

Are there any negative points to consider about the whole idea? (other than having to pay for residency programs)

I’d deeply appreciate your opinions!
Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: