1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

I Need Some 411 Please

Discussion in 'Surgery and Surgical Subspecialties' started by MD Dreams, Nov 27, 2005.

1. MD Dreams

MD Dreams Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

I need your expertise/advice regarding what tier surgical residency I should aim for. Although I plan on applying to a number of institutions, I need this information to help guide me in deciding where I should do my electives. In short, should I do my electives at university programs or community programs, and at what tier with respect to each one. I'm hoping my electives will open some doors for me in regards to residency.

A little info about me: I'm an SGU student, good grades in med school, 240 on step 1, so far A's in clinicals (my school goes by letter grades), a couple of good letters of recommendations, more hopefully to come. I tend to do very well in clinicals because I get along well with the residents, am reliable, hard-working and enthusiastic (not trying to boast).

Any and all input would be appreciated. Thank you.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. SFX

SFX canonized
    5+ Year Member

"Need some 411"! Have you just been reading a nineties dictionary or something? :laugh:

As for the question. I guess it depends on what you're interested in. What kind of career do you want?

4. MD Dreams

MD Dreams Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

I don't want an academic career. I do want a fellowship after general surgery, although not in peds surgery. But I would like to have the other fellowship options available to me with relative ease.