I need some advice folks

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

5moreminutes

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I took it in august, got a 13 Q (6P,4V,3B)
this time Jan, I got a 17 O (6P, 3V, 8B)

I improved a lot in Bio, because that is all I studied for. so now i know that the key for me is to study more

When should I retake this test, in april or in may
please help me out!! :(

Members don't see this ad.

Why did you take the real deal (twice), without adequately preparing for it? Taking the REAL Mcat, is not like taking a practice test you know. Those scores are forever carved into your permanent record. Even if you were to take it a 3rd time and get a high score (which is unlikely considering there is something you should change about your studying and or/understanding of topics), it will still reflect negatively because those first 2 low scores cannot be taken out of your record.

If I were you, i would NOTTTTTTTT take another REAL Mcat for a very long long time, until I figured out what you are missing in your test taking strategy or concepts tested. And then after you fix that problem, take a whole bunch of self-timed practice tests by yourself and then score them, making sure you are at least averaging above 30's before re taking.

Seriously though, if you ever want to become a doctor....I think slow and steady is the key point right now. Taking the MCAT again and getting a 24-29, is not going to do you much good after those first 2 attempts. So, re-take the classes or change the method of attack. Turn that 5-more-minutes, into 5 more years if necessary. And I mean this in the most constructive way! Better late then never. Good Luck.