I recieved a job offer as a research tech

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sigmon Froid

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am seeking any kind of advice for my current situation.
I am a recent BS biology graduate who has an interest in going into translational science, and I was ecstatic to hear that I was offered my first full-time job yesterday.
The generalized job requirements are, you have to be able to learn new techniques and fit well in the team-oriented environment. Having said that, I have little experience in the real life work force out side of college. Besides, what is the best thing a person in their early-mid 20s (who starting to learn more about the important things in life) do besides asking questions to more experienced individuals?
One thing that worries me is my introverted personality. My immature desire is to really get the most out of my 2-3 year commitment in the lab and hopefully get published. If anyone could post any life-long advices (in regards to the lab-settings or not), or any advice on how to NOT get fired :), I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you members of the SDN!

A short list that I came up with briefly on how to get the most out of my job, based on my previous limited experience in the world
-Do not try to hide anything or be a shady character (like hiding bad data or mistake)
-Constantly communicate with supervisor about what I am going to do throughout the day
-ask for recommendations for reading materials before the job start date
-attend seminars and journal clubs

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Congrats on getting the job! Last year I spent months trying to find a lab tech position, so I know how exciting it is to finally get one.