soso809

10+ Year Member
Aug 14, 2006
Status
I am a non-trad student and will be starting my Pre-Pharm studies in August. On top of that I will also be getting an accounting degree.

Just wondering if anyone had any tips or advice to share with me? I am shooting for the University of Pittsburgh Pharmacy School since I will already be living in Pittsburgh for undergrad.

Any words of wisdom would be appreciated. What are some things you wish you had learned earlier then later?

medicalCPA

Actually, it's medicalCPA, PhD now
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Mar 26, 2007
NYC, Baby!
Status
Medical Student
I am a non-trad student and will be starting my Pre-Pharm studies in August. On top of that I will also be getting an accounting degree.

Just wondering if anyone had any tips or advice to share with me? I am shooting for the University of Pittsburgh Pharmacy School since I will already be living in Pittsburgh for undergrad.

Any words of wisdom would be appreciated. What are some things you wish you had learned earlier then later?
Yay for accounting majors! There is a University of Pittsburgh thread, although it's geared toward questions about the school.

One thing I wish I had learned earlier was that there are out of state public schools that grant you in state status after one year. Had I known this, I would have applied to such schools. While it's great to have a top choice school, I also suggest that you apply to at least one more school so that you have other options in case Pitt does not work out.

Good luck to you.

SoccerCoach10

Graduated y'all!
10+ Year Member
Mar 22, 2007
Status
Resident [Any Field]

I suggest getting the best grades that you can possibly get (which is a no brainer, I know:) ) Do well in OChem and Bio courses, as well as Calculus, it'll help you on the PCAT. Shoot for an 80+ on the PCAT. Also, don't forget extracurricular type activities. It might not be good enough to just have pharmacy experience and good grades. Good luck to you!

OP