I think I just switched from pre-dent to pre-med. Help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cofo

Super Cool Member
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey I'm a sophomore with 39 hours...(54 after this semester) who is strongly considering going into the medical field. I have been a predent for over about 2 years, and I think I need to go shadow some medical doctors, because I have lost interest in dentistry. Would an OB/GYN let me shadow them? I am very professional in shadowing, so maybe? Also...how do I find out which classes I need to take? I am at a university right now that does not satisfy me. Therefore, I am transferring to UT-San Antonio after this semester. So...do I need to take calculus 1? I don't necessarily want to become a biology major (although I've taken 2 biology courses and made A's in them both...these were the weed-out classes too!)......I like anthropology. I basically just need to know what pre-requisite courses I HAVE to take, and what I should do in order to score well on the MCAT. Thank you for reading this, and hopefully I'll receive some feedback from you all. Thanks again.

Members don't see this ad.

Maybe you should stay with predentistry until you completely feel that it's not for you. Take Calc, Chem, Organic Chem, Physics, Upper Bio classes as electives and keep your major as it is. Check up on some schools to see what they want. Or just wiki medical schools. The majority of the schools want those classes.