I transferred school once. Should I take a gap year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shahin Sh

Swollen Anterior Talofibular
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a junior thinking whether I should take a gap year or not. I spent two years at a state school far from any hospital interesting research labs. Then I decided to transfer to Johns Hopkins University for the stellar medical opportunities it offers. Although I lost a lot of the positions I already had at my previous institution, I kept my 4.0 GPA (2 A+s and 3 As so far). I am majoring in Biophysics and Public health (might not finish PH), and have a physics minor.

I've had a lot of research experience and one publication. My premed adviser, however, keeps telling me that a gap year will enhance my application by adding leadership and clinical experience. I would much rather take a gap year between the second and third year of med school. What do you guys think? Would this gap year make a huge difference at getting accepted into schools such as Harvard, Hopkins, UCSF, or Mayo?

Thank you for your valuable time!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,

I am a junior thinking whether I should take a gap year or not. I spent two years at a state school far from any hospital interesting research labs. Then I decided to transfer to Johns Hopkins University for the stellar medical opportunities it offers. Although I lost a lot of the positions I already had at my previous institution, I kept my 4.0 GPA (2 A+s and 3 As so far). I am majoring in Biophysics and Public health (might not finish PH), and have a physics minor.