BOTH I want to get started early, but I have no idea how...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr. Amoeba

NYITCOM Class of 2022
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an incoming DO Student, and I've been told that I should begin studying for the Step 1 ASAP.

As a result, I'm trying figure out which resources I should get now so I can begin prepping, and which materials I should hold off on getting until maybe I begin my second year.

I ask this because a good chunk of studying materials seem to have a time-limit on how long you can access them, and I'd rather not waste money when I'm already going into debt (/sobs/). Additionally, some material seems to get updated every so often, so I'm worried that I may end up studying a review guide that becomes obsolete by the time I end up taking the exam.

So basically, I'm wondering which study materials are worth getting now (2.5 years before Step 1) and which I'd be better off getting 5-6 months before my exam.

Any advice? Many thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

First Aid is the main Step 1 resource. I would recommend reviewing topics in First Aid that were covered in daily lecture b/c this will familiarize you with First Aid book and key you in to high yield concepts that will likely show up on tests.

You shouldn't spend a lot of time on Step 1 studying this early so I would say its too early for Uworld questions and other subscriptions. And yes some facts will likely be outdated in two and a half years so you may find yourself buying an updated version of First Aid which runs like $50 but that's not awful in the long run.

Reactions: 1 user
Wow, thanks so much for the advice!!!
I'll definitely start off by getting the First Aid book, then.
Should I wait until I finish my first year of med. school to get Pathoma, then?