I want to transfer DO to MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OldManGoat

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a first year DO student and I regret my decision to go DO. My problem is that I don't believe in the OMM. It also annoys the hell out of me how they worship A.T. Still here. I have a 31 mcat and a 3.9 post bach. I only applied DO because of the phylosophy of "looking at the patient as a whole" and I thought all the MD premeds at my school were jerks. Now I'd rather get the MD and not have any stigma follow me around. Is it virtually impossible to transfer at this point? Should I just tough it out and get a degree that I don't want? To be honest I am really miserable here and I want to drop out but I am in so much debt already.

Members don't see this ad.

I think your easiest path at this point is to bite the bullet, finish the DO, and try to do an allo residency.

I am a first year DO student and I regret my decision to go DO. My problem is that I don't believe in the OMM. It also annoys the hell out of me how they worship A.T. Still here. I have a 31 mcat and a 3.9 post bach. I only applied DO because of the phylosophy of "looking at the patient as a whole" and I thought all the MD premeds at my school were jerks. Now I'd rather get the MD and not have any stigma follow me around. Is it virtually impossible to transfer at this point? Should I just tough it out and get a degree that I don't want? To be honest I am really miserable here and I want to drop out but I am in so much debt already.

Members don't see this ad :)
I know you're already crazy in debt, but I wonder how extremely difficult it is to transfer...would it not suffice just to know that you could do a dual residency?