I want to transfer schools, but I can't because of my SAT, What should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jordan23

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, so even though I want to transfer schools, the higher undergrad institutions require people to submit their SAT scores, regardless of your grades in college. My SAT score wasn't all that high, so what are my options? Should I still apply to the school that I want, even though my SAT was low? I meet all other requirements such as GPA and hours are concerned. I feel stuck. What are my options? :(

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I'm an undergraduate senior who applied for transfer sophomore year (to matriculate in the fall of Junior year). I was accepted at an Ivy with a less than optimal SAT score (greater than 1250 but less than 1350), but I had a great two year record at my home institution (GPA ~ 3.9). I ended up remaining at my home institution because in the end, I didn't want to make new friends and have to re-adjust to life at a new school, especially because in two years I would be applying for medical school. Anyways, if you're applying as a freshman to matriculate at the new school for sophomore year, of course your SAT score will weigh more heavily, so if you wait until sophomore year, the focus will be on your 2-year record at your home institution and less on your SAT. Good luck.

can i retake the SAT even while im in college?

Members don't see this ad :)
can i retake the SAT even while im in college?

I'm not sure about this. I would go hang out on the collegeconfidential forums (that's what I did when I was applying for transfer) to ask these questions. This is pre-med forum...

i would like to go to a higher institution. do state universities require SAT scores?