I was chosen as an alternate. Is this bad or good? Lol

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Joleybear

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
For Creighton. It's my first choice school. I have no experience whatsoever. So I will be starting as a technician on weekends and also plan on getting CPR certified. I have kids and two have disabilities so I can't do too much at once but I'm wondering what else may help my chances? I noticed everyone else at the interview had more experience than me (more than none isn't difficult lol) I have an interview for LECOM somewhere between March-May ish I am not sure the date because I need to reschedule later today but it will be in there somewhere. Is alternate basically a rejection or are some people flat out rejected? I really can only do a distance program because of my kids and their needs. Any advice is appreciated except for "don't go for Pharmacy". Not interested in that negative. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi @Joleybear! There are several options that may increase your chances of getting into pharmacy school. Working as a technician and getting CPR certified already gives you a nice head start. You can also shadow professionals who are in the medical field. It doesn't have to be a pharmacist! You can also use your experiences to give you an edge during the interview process. Finally, I recommend practicing for the interview by answering potential questions impromptu. For example, how would you respond if someone asked for your top 3 weaknesses?

I'm not sure what you mean by an alternate being a rejection. If you are referring to an alternative date for the interview, then that should be okay if you get this sorted out with the school.

Hope it helps!

I am not sure what you mean by alternate. Since it sounds like you attended the interview, are you referring to being waitlisted?