SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

I will give up my quest to medical school unless you convince me otherwise.

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by wheyprotein, Jun 19, 2008.

1. wheyprotein

wheyprotein 2+ Year Member

Nov 2, 2007
    I finished my undergraduate work back in 2006 with a double-major in political science and history. Since then, I did a career-changing post-bac in which I did just the four basic pre-med pre-requisites. Right now, I am studying for the MCATs and I am going to be taking them in August. I did everything else that medical schools have asked me to do to allow me entry through their doors. So, why is it now that I am hearing horror stories that make me want to give up? Why, of all times, am I now hearing about the GPA 3.9, MCAT 38 student who didn't get accepted anywhere? Why, of all times, am I now hearing about the GPA 3.3, MCAT 34 student who didn't get in anywhere? Why, of all times, am I now hearing of students who are scoring in the high 30s but only getting acceptances to osteopathic schools and no allopathic schools? I got a 3.6 GPA in my post-bac, and I am shooting for a 30 on the MCATs. But why do it? After hearing those stories, what good will a 30 on the MCATs do me? Could anyone please motivate me to gather the strength to go on? Or, am I working towards failure?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. HoboCommander

HoboCommander 7+ Year Member

Sep 30, 2007
    work harder. you can do it.
  4. neurocirujano

neurocirujano Banned

Jun 13, 2008
    If you study enough, a 30 is easily attainable for just about anyone... IF you at least put in the time. Then you could stop worrying so much.
  5. thzone1986

thzone1986 2+ Year Member

Jun 16, 2006
    Looks like you better pack it up then :rolleyes: