1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

I wish I had done family medicine

Discussion in 'Family Medicine' started by answerman, Dec 10, 2005.

1. answerman

answerman Member
    5+ Year Member

I am a current 3rd year internal medicine resident at a southern california residency. I have no idea what I am going to do after I finish. There are no particular fellowships that excite me. I just keep remembering that as a medical student I had always thought about doing family practice. Then somewhere in my fourth year, I kept hearing that since family medicine and intenal medicine are the same thing - why don't you just do internal medicine. So I ended up matching in internal medicine. Then as an intern, I tried to switch to family medicine - however my ego (won't get as respected in family medicine and its the same thing anyway) got in the way and I ended up staying in internal medicine.

Now I am desperately unhappy and I wake up EVERY MORNING wishing I had done family medicine (because my deep down gut had always said so). For example, I always saw myself working as a kaiser family practice doc. I hate kaiser internal medicine because all they have you see is patients >65. Kaiser family practice is so much easier, fun, and nicer - you see a lot younger patients and a lot more preventive medicine type exams.

I like to see younger patients (less than 65). I like seeing kids - but just once in a while just to keep me fresh.

Someone please help me - i just don't know what to do from here.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. lowbudget

lowbudget Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

One option is to do more training:
    1. Do Pedi - 3 more years
    2. Do FM - <3 years because you should get credit for IM
    3. Do Adolescent Fellowship - 1-3 years