I would just like to know what would my chances be...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gsaldana10

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody, I am planing to apply into different Med. schools and I would like to get feedback from people who know more about this stuff than me. :) here is what I have accomplished so far. Thanks in advance.

GPA. 3.92/4.0 Junior at University of Illinois at Chicago
MCAT: 33 (I haven't taken the MCA yet, but I am aiming for a 33 or above)
Major: Biochemistry
Research experience:
I have been working in a lab as research assistant for about 12 months now.
Also, I have had an internship at DePaul University for a summer.
Extra curricular activities:
I have some done some poster presentations related to my previous research at DePaul University as well as 9 months of volunteer work at Northwestern Memorial Hospital (GI Lab).
I have also volunteer as a TA for a community college for 2 semesters straight.

Extra (no sure if this would make a difference):
Fluent in Spanish.
First generation college student.
I am American Born Peruvian.
I have not taken the ACT nor SAT as I did my high school in Peru never had the chance to take either one.

So, yeah this is all I've gotten. I have not taken the MCAT yet; the score is hypothetical and assuming I do get this score, what would my chances be to get into the following med schools? What If I want to apply to a MD/PhD program? Do I have a remote chance of getting into one of these schools?

Northwestern Medical
University of Illinois @ Chicago
University of Chicago
Loyola University

Any suggestion will be greatly appreciated :) Thank you all

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everybody, I am planing to apply into different Med. schools and I would like to get feedback from people who know more about this stuff than me. :) here is what I have accomplished so far. Thanks in advance.

Research experience: