Identity Crisis?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Student4Life0

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I think I am having an identity crisis regarding future goals/programs applied to...and it may be a little too late, considering I've sent in most of my apps. I need a little advice. I am finishing up my MA in clinical, and ever since I arrived to the field of Psychology, I always wanted to be a clinician. I worked in a lab undergrad, and got an RA position in my MA program, but research was always something that I did only because I knew I had to. I knew it would "look good." I always had my sights set on a University based PsyD program, where clinical work would be the focus. Now I am coming to the end of my third semester as a MA student, and have spent 1 semester as a clinical practicum student at a research site. Although I primarily do counseling at this site, I have also gotten involved/exposed to a variety of different research projects. As time progresses, I feel more drawn to research. I feel excited and intrigued by research. Don't get me wrong, I love doing clinical work. However...it really isn't what I thought it would be. I also feel much more excited about taking on patients that are part of a research study, rather than those who are just seeking counseling (outside of a study).

I have applied to only 4 PhD programs, and 5 PsyD (since the PsyD degree was what I always thought I wanted). Now I am all confused. My ideal job would be one in which I can do both clinical and research work. Is this possible with a PsyD? Are my expectations unreasonable?

Members don't see this ad.