if i don't do good freshman year, will i not be accepted into medical school in the future.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

YNGBlackExcellence98

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
i am a freshman at a SUNY community college currently. my dream would be to attend UAlbany or any other SUNY school after i finish my two years here (Spring 2018). the medical schools that i am interested in attending would be SUNY Downstate and Meharry Medical College.

my first semester, my GPA was 2.7, the reason was because of my English 101 grade. i'm in the second semester and i have confidence that i can hopefully pull at least a 3.0 and boost up my overall GPA. i also plan to retake Eng 101 in my third semester/sophomore year or during a winter session.

but will a bad freshman year harm my chances getting into medical school.

Members don't see this ad.

i am a freshman at a SUNY community college currently. my dream would be to attend UAlbany or any other SUNY school after i finish my two years here (Spring 2018). the medical schools that i am interested in attending would be SUNY Downstate and Meharry Medical College.

my first semester, my GPA was 2.7, the reason was because of my English 101 grade. i'm in the second semester and i have confidence that i can hopefully pull at least a 3.0 and boost up my overall GPA. i also plan to retake Eng 101 in my third semester/sophomore year or during a winter session.

You should really aim for a 3.7 by the time you apply. That means if you get a 3.0 this semester, you'd have to get a 4.0 every semester for the rest of undergrad. If you can pull that off, your weak freshman year grades may largely be forgiven, but you definitely need to immediately identify what it is you need to change in terms of work ethic and/or study habits

Reactions: 1 users