• Forums Updates - Thursday at 1:00 AM Eastern
    We will be performing some system maintenance on Thursday starting around 1:00 AM Eastern. The forums will be unavailable for approximately one hour.
  • Seeking Outstanding Advisors
    If you have benefited from an amazing advisor, nominate them for the 2024 Advisor of the Year Award! Accepting nominations now through March 31st.

If I retake my Organic Chem courses at another institution

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MDdream

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
how does that work on the AMCAS application?

I graduated with my BS in 2004 at UofA, now im at the Univ. of Houston..

If I retake Organic Chem classes at UH do they count the "new" grades in your undergraduate GPA in replacement of the older grades? or am i mistaken?

Members don't see this ad.

MDdream said:
how does that work on the AMCAS application?

I graduated with my BS in 2004 at UofA, now im at the Univ. of Houston..

If I retake Organic Chem classes at UH do they count the "new" grades in your undergraduate GPA in replacement of the older grades? or am i mistaken?
No, they are counted IN ADDITION to the older grades. Therefore, they are averaged together. If your grades were really bad, you might still come out ahead by retaking the classes, especially since you will need to know the material for the MCAT.

jota_jota said:
No, they are counted IN ADDITION to the older grades. Therefore, they are averaged together. If your grades were really bad, you might still come out ahead by retaking the classes, especially since you will need to know the material for the MCAT.

how does that work if you took classes with no grades (credit, no credit, etc)

Members don't see this ad :)
suckermc said:
how does that work if you took classes with no grades (credit, no credit, etc)
Credit/No Credit courses are not counted in any GPA (overall, BCPM, etc.)