If not medicine/healthcare/sciences at this point, then what?

Oct 22, 2013
United States.
Status
Pre-Medical
I guess I am seeing it more in some of the people that I graduated college with and at times, I feel this way too. We study hard while on the pre-med track, work hard to keep our GPAs as high as we can, spend hours studying for the MCAT, and then some of us who aren't honest with ourselves wonder if this is what we want to do for the rest of our lives.

So many of us got talked into the medical field by family and society because:

1 - Job stability/security.

While the saying alone is not true for any profession at this point, it is probably more common in healthcare than it is in most other professions. We will always need doctors and dentists, there will always be a demand for those professions and anyone who finished med school or dental school is very likely guaranteed a job that pays 100k+ which brings me to my next point.

2 - Money/salary.

Yes, you spend years in med school or dental school but unlike most other professions, six figures is more or less guaranteed and it is the path with the LEAST risk involved to get there.

3 - Respect/status.

Doctor/physician is one of those professions that society in general respects and looks highly upon compared to say a banker, lawyer, or salesperson. So many parents want their kids to be doctors and work in the medical field because of this, especially immigrant parents.

Now I constantly hear people say "make sure you love it" or be sure you want to pursue this profession.

The issue is, after you've done all of that (graduated college with a decent GPA and done well on the MCAT) but still have questions about whether or not you want to go into this field, I feel like it is too little too late at that point.