1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Illinoisian for UCSF

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by UCSFdreamin, Dec 17, 2008.

1. UCSFdreamin

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I am really interested in the PRIME-US program at UCSF. In college I studied philosophy and researched in psychology, work that was recently published with me as first of two authors. I thought I wanted to do research, but then worked for 4 months in the Dominican in an HIV clinic and found public health very appealing. I shadowed physicians, worked on an R01 grant, helped streamline patient data flow and co-authored several papers now pending publication. Now I am doing physiology at Northwestern just to be sure my draw to public health isnt merely a question of recency, and I am still drawn to public health.

I also have a few small public service projects that I initiated and built from the ground up, from ideation through recruiting and execution, speak proficient Spanish and have some leadership extracurriculars from college. My GPA was a 3.78 overall, 3.7 (I think) science, and I earned honors for independent thesis in medical ethics and behavioral pharmacology. I am proficient at Spanish and just now learning french.

Am I being silly when I worry that my 10 10 12 S MCAT is not strong enough? For a couple of reasons I am quite convinced I could up the score, but that would distract me from my research. Is it worth it? Will a 34 or 35 make a huge difference compared to a 32?

Thanks!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Mobius1985

7+ Year Member