UCSFdreamin

10+ Year Member
Dec 17, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
I am really interested in the PRIME-US program at UCSF. In college I studied philosophy and researched in psychology, work that was recently published with me as first of two authors. I thought I wanted to do research, but then worked for 4 months in the Dominican in an HIV clinic and found public health very appealing. I shadowed physicians, worked on an R01 grant, helped streamline patient data flow and co-authored several papers now pending publication. Now I am doing physiology at Northwestern just to be sure my draw to public health isnt merely a question of recency, and I am still drawn to public health.

I also have a few small public service projects that I initiated and built from the ground up, from ideation through recruiting and execution, speak proficient Spanish and have some leadership extracurriculars from college. My GPA was a 3.78 overall, 3.7 (I think) science, and I earned honors for independent thesis in medical ethics and behavioral pharmacology. I am proficient at Spanish and just now learning french.

Am I being silly when I worry that my 10 10 12 S MCAT is not strong enough? For a couple of reasons I am quite convinced I could up the score, but that would distract me from my research. Is it worth it? Will a 34 or 35 make a huge difference compared to a 32?

Thanks!

Mobius1985

10+ Year Member
Apr 4, 2007
I don't think your worries are unjustified. The mean MCAT for an acceptee of UCSF is 35 and mean GPA is 3.8. More daunting than that, is that UCSF takes mostly in-state applicants.

aebvd97

10+ Year Member
Oct 22, 2008
Nashville, TN
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
I don't think your worries are unjustified. The mean MCAT for an acceptee of UCSF is 35 and mean GPA is 3.8. More daunting than that, is that UCSF takes mostly in-state applicants.