I'm a nervous wreck about intern year, any keys to a successful intern year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sushi Chef

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
It just seems so surreal after using 4th year doing everything one could imagine before starting internship in a month or so. Any survival tips for intern year for general surgery?

Members don't see this ad.

take things one day at a time and always keep your chief informed, always.

um, the job is real easy. just write everything down and do what your chief tells you to do. be available, affable, and trainable. bottom line -- just get things done. people appreciate a service that runs tight and smoothly. take care of issues that arise so your seniors don't have to even hear about them.

Members don't see this ad :)
i'm just finishing my intern year, last year i posted a similar question and was frustrated by general comments like keep the chief in the know, or run a tight ship, general instructions will get u nothing but yelled at, don't be afraid to ask specifics if u don't know. i learned the hard way..lol

1) while it will feel like u r on your own when u first start, there are several people watching you , your orders, patient evaluations. including nurses and if u r electronic, pharmacist. you will make mistakes, its ok. some nurses like to belittle u for mistakes, its ok, they r bitter and you are learning.
2) the major job for an intern is to be able to "make aware" your senior residents. while they r in the OR or chief room, wherever they hide. lol..so, change in clinical status; lab results, cultures, test to order ; CT scans, fistulagrams, small bowel follow thru ect. order and f/u these results several times a day, it will become annoying. this is what BE THE EYES AND EARS or the team means, which suks.

yes we r secretaries; sorry. yes i am bitter...lol