Quantcast

I'm a sophomore and I'm panicking -- all advice appreciated for the next year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SpacemanSpifff

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
The big thing I regret is not studying for the MCAT. Looks like you're way ahead of where I was on that front. Planning for a prep course is a good start. Prepare well and you should do well!

As far as ECs go, your research background looks pretty solid. Staying involved in your current lab after summer could be profitable and yield a publication or two. Clinically do you have any exposure via shadowing or volunteering? SDN wisdom dictates that all applicants should have at least some exposure, as I'm sure you've read.

I can understand worrying about leadership. My advice would be to get more involved in something you're already interested in; a sport, instrument, strange hobby, anything that you would like to do more of and could get some experience delegating/organizing as an officer/captain etc. Maybe try to find some opportunities in your home community that you could start over the summer (although with research you could be very busy).

Just my thoughts. Good luck and enjoy your last couple years of college!

Staradmiral

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Not sure what your talking about. What you've described already sounds like a good application, Maybe you have a distorted view as to how little volunteer and research experience many medical students actually have. Just apply to plenty of schools and you'll get in somewhere.

Don't take a year off, don't waste time. The doors to many specialties are closing...

eggs13

Lift Heavy, Get Tough
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
In my opinion, starting to study for the MCAT in the summer and not taking it until January is a mistake. 6 months is too long to study and you will burnout...3 months should be plenty of time, 4 months max...remember quality, not quantity

passionformed