Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

I'm an Engineer---What are my chances? (obviously)

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by Chetho, Dec 8, 2008.

1. Chetho

Pre-Medical
    Whats up?

I'm 23. I just got my B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of FLorida. I graduated with a 2.86 GPA =(. My Pre-med classes are C's and B's, maybe 1 or 2 A's. But not very good to say the least. I Got a 30Q on the MCAT. And have been working shadowing doctors lately to improve my 'extracurriculars'. What do you think my chances are?

I don't feel that they are very good. My GPA is quite low. I have been looking into Pre-medical Certificate programs and 1 yr masters programs. DO you think I can get into a U.S. medical school? Or is pre-med certificate my best option? Thanks everyone. Go gators!

-Chetho

2. NPEMTIV

NPEMTIV Accidentally Accepted
    Moderator Emeritus SDN Advisor 10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    Your odds of getting into a US school with a 2.86 aren't good at all. Without trying to sound like a total dream killer I wouldn't spend the money on applications. You'll also have a tough time getting into a good SMP, but a master's in general is a good idea. I would pursue a master's in a science field and really do stellar. Your MCAT is good an if you can hurry through the master's it should still be valid so don't retake it unless it expires. Hope is definitely not lost as many people have been in your situation and have gone on to become very successful doctors. You can make it, but you'll need to really buckle down and work on it. If you do that, however, you'll make it. Medical school is a marathon, not a race. Best of luck!

3. RevivedPreMed

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
  4. NoMoreAMCAS

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical