I'm certain I don't want to do clinical medicine,now what?ANY advice welcome

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pufftissue

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

It's pretty sad, but I'm just now realizing that I became a doctor primarily because of family expectations.

I finished an internal medicine residency, and I hate primary care. I am certain that I want to leave clinical medicine, but I don't know what else to do with my life. This is also not a mood swing as I've gotten comments from people that while I can do a decent job as a doctor, I clearly don't seem happy.

My interests are in consumer technology, i.e., gadgets.
My passion is in helping the working poor. I very much believe in helping the underdog, especially outside of America or in minority populations in America.

What I realized that I truly dislike about primary care is:
1. Demanding patients
2. Paperwork
3. Lack of control over schedule
4. Being on call

I realized that I simply do not have the personality to speak to, comfort, and be patient day in and day out without completely draining myself and feeling abused. I simply need my own life back. I still want to help people, but indirectly.

I am absolutely certain that I seeing patients more than 10% of the time will be too much for me. What are my options now?

Any advice, bad or good, or abuse, would be appreciated. Someone give me a future.

Members don't see this ad.

Common complaint I think, whether ppl vocalize it or not. What made you decide on that residency in the first place+why not ditch it sooner? I thought after 1 yr it there were opportunities in other fields like rads or gas. Just wondering. Don't mind me too much I'm only a lowly first year. But mainly how did it take so long to come to that realization is what comes to my mind

To the OP: