1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

I'm freaking out!!!

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by Smellmax, Aug 4, 2011.

1. Smellmax

Pre-Medical
    So I just submitted my AMCAS a month ago, and I got to talking to some of my friends about my chances on getting into the schools that I applied for.
    I have a 3.9 cGPA/40P MCAT and just graduated from UCSD in June, majored in biochemical engineering. I graduated in only 3 years and amassed around 500+ hours volunteering at a hospital, was president of the school student body for my college, worked all 3 years in a pathology lab under an accomplished P.I. and got 2 papers authored, with 1 currently in review. I also TA-ed for a couple of different courses, 2 upper division biology courses and also for a humanities course. A couple of research institutes offered to pay for my grad school if I decided to get a PhD and come back to work with them, so I'm considering a MD/PhD program. I also was the valedictorian for my college, and traveled a bit to give talks with Ramachandran on my research on psychopathology.
    The thing I'm most concerned with is that unlike a number of other applicants from my school, I wasn't part of any pre-med fraternities and didn't have any particularly moving stories to put on my personal statements, besides losing my mother to pneumonia when I was in high school.
    I applied to the typical top tiered med schools, but I really want to get into University of Missouri because my parents will be relocating there next year.