I'm Having A Difficult Time Deciding Between The Air Force , Or College.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nvnme

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This situation has been bothering me nonstop over the summer. I've lurked these forums for a good year or two, and finally feel inclined to post after holding this dilemma in for what feels like an eternity. I'm an 19 year old graduate, two years removed from HS. I'm currently in the DEP Program for the Air Force. During my HS years, I admittedly joked around, never taking class too serious. I played basketball, and was ranked highly among my peers in my state and therefore was solely relying on my athleticism to carry me through high school and college. It did carry me through HS, until I blew out my knee in the beginning of my Senior year. With my basketball scholarship snatched, a 20 ACT, and an 2.9 GPA, there weren't any academic scholarships rolling in to say the least.

My dream job since I was an 8th grader if not playing basketball was being a physician. I'd always gotten by without doing much studying(if any) After graduation, I was severely depressed. My family lacked the funds to send me to college, and I was skeptical of taking out student loans. I opted to not attend CC and simply work for a year, more or less dwelling on what could have been. I lost all motivation simply because life threw me a curve ball, and I didn't know how to handle it. Earlier this year, around June, I joined the Air Force DEP.