varn1x

2+ Year Member
Apr 6, 2015
I’m a medical student, and I’m planning to apply for IM residency.
I have a passion for international traveling, and I have 2 questions.

1- Are there any IM (or any of its subspecialties) jobs out there that allow like 3 months off (preferably consecutive) each year? Of course I will be willing to take the pay cut.

2- If I ever decide to do locums, would a few months gap between jobs be a problem in my CV when I apply for another job?

Last edited:

jdh71

Grim Optimist.
10+ Year Member
Dec 14, 2006
Last House on the Block, USA
Status
Attending Physician
You can try to negotiate whatever work you want in a contract. But most places will probably not want a physician gone three months at a time. You might be able to work something out as a hospitalist.

Explained gaps don’t have to be a problem if they are explained. Yeah? Still long regular gaps in work will signal you won’t have great reflexes when you show up.

OP
V

varn1x

2+ Year Member
Apr 6, 2015
You can try to negotiate whatever work you want in a contract. But most places will probably not want a physician gone three months at a time. You might be able to work something out as a hospitalist.

Explained gaps don’t have to be a problem if they are explained. Yeah? Still long regular gaps in work will signal you won’t have great reflexes when you show up.
The 3 months don’t have to be consecutive, it was just a preference.
I understand most jobs don’t want a doctor taking that much time off. That’s why I was thinking of the locum route. Is it feasible to set up a locum schedule that allows me to take that much time off?

jdh71

Grim Optimist.
10+ Year Member
Dec 14, 2006
Last House on the Block, USA
Status
Attending Physician
I understand most jobs don’t want a doctor taking that much time off. That’s why I was thinking of the locum route. Is it feasible to set up a locum schedule that allows me to take that much time off?