I'm new, and was wondering...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MidnightSun32

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been checking out this site for the past week or so (and wow! I love it!) and have read a lot of good info. I am only a sophomore undergrad so I have a little while to go but was wondering if there were any classes I should take that aren't obvious with my majors. I'm double majoring in Biology and Chemisty with a forenic science & music minor (I play a few instruments and it's just fun; the forensic science minor was because those classes were interesting).

I am 24, and actually was an Operations Manager for a couple large companies but really felt like I wasn't fulfilling my dream so here I am in school again.... and hopefully, I'll make it to med school :)

Sorry if this question is kind of a repeat but I really just want to try and be prepared :) :)

Members don't see this ad.

Taking both chemistry and biology as a major will definitely aid in you not having to take any extra science classes. However, my advice would be to reduce the courseload and just major in biochemistry. You're going to get a lot more non-applicable classes doing a double major than you will as a single major.

2 majors + 2 minors? why?

I can't think of any advantages of doing that in getting into med school. But if you're doing it just for fun and you really love learning then I do it. But if you want to get into med school, just major in what you like and take the prereqs. It's better to get great grades than having 2 majors + 2 minors and just ok grades, you know? Besides, taking those majors and minors would just extend your stay in college.

Members don't see this ad :)
agree, dont pick multiple majors and minors just to impress schools. All that really matters is MCAT, gpa, and extracurriculars. Its important that you maximize these three factors.