I'm not sure I want to go to vet school anymore?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AniSci

AniSci
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a senior in undergrad (yeah, bad time to come to this conclusion), and have spent the last three years of my college career killing myself with working toward getting a BS (...literally) in animal science and simultaneously fulfilling the pre-reqs for vet school (lots and lots of chemistry, a bunch of other crap classes).

Last semester was bad. I was hoping this semester wasn't going to be as bad. It's not. But it's bad in its own way.

Anyway. I've always been a straight-A student, and grades have come relatively easy if I worked for them. But last year seemed to have started this chain-reaction of "I spend hours and hours and hours working through homework and studying and reviewing and preparing--only to do either mediocre or poorly on the exam". It's just like the entire universe is working against me to prevent me from doing the one thing I'll ever be happy doing. I won't be happy working with animals in any other situation than acting as a veterinarian.

I am in organic chemistry right now. I took 1 last spring and I'm in 2 right now.

But recently I just...haven't been interested in the animal science/pre-vet adventure as I had been. The classes are boring, and just something I've begun to see as a pain in my side rather than an opportunity to learn and challenge myself with new ways of thinking and piecing together all my prior knowledge to arrive at a solution to a problem.
I'm tried, I'm frustrated, I'm losing confidence in myself/my abilities like a jet dropping from the sky. What if I can't get it in the first place? What if I fail out because I can't handle it? What if I do graduate (by some miracle) and am still a terrible vet?