I'm not sure medicine is for me, does that mean it's time to quit?

Jun 30, 2013
Status
Hey everyone, I know these threads aren't the most interesting to many of you because you are set and well on your way to becoming doctors, but as such I could really use your advice.

I'm a sophomore at a major state university double majoring in liberal arts disciplines. Since I was a sophomore in high school, I've always had this dream of being a doctor. But in college I've consistently put off my my pre med pre requisites. As it stands, I've only taken my first level bio class, which I loved and got an A in.

Time and time again I've put off my science classes because I don't need them for my major, and justify to myself that my majors are enough and I'm interested in them and I don't want to be a doctor. But after every semester of straight liberal arts classes, I've always missed the type of thinking my bio class required and figured I needed to recommit myself to becoming a doctor.

Despite this, I'm not totally there. I HATE chemistry, and struggle in any kind of math based science. Am I sure I can be successful in them? Yes, but it will take a lot of work. I don't mind that, in fact it somewhat appeals to me, I'm just afraid of doing so much work for something I'm not 100% about.

I always told myself that I had to shadow a doctor to make up my mind. Last week I got the opportunity, shadowing a general surgeon in clinic and even coming into the OR for two really interesting cases. After spending these days in the hospital, I know absolutely I can do medicine. I understood the basics of what was going on, and was completely unfazed by the blood and guts and the mayhem when there was a complication from surgery. That stuff really appeals to me.