Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

I'm only applying to 5 Chicago schools--is that bad?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Tofurkey, May 3, 2004.

1. Tofurkey

Tofurkey Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Hello,

Because my spouse is committed to working in Chicago for two more years, this year I am only applying to 5 Chicago schools--Rush, UIC, Loyola, NWern, and U of C. I can't apply to Finch because we can't afford a second car and we can't move up to where Finch is. I wonder if this will screw me in terms of no acceptances--I know 5 is a VERY small number, but if I don't get in anywhere this year next year (for 2006) we can move anywhere so I will apply all over the country.

I'm an IL resident, too, which should help. But based on my stats, can anyone offer any advice?

Thanks,

T

post-bacc GPA (science) 3.7; UGPA: 3.4; no MCAT yet, humanities major. Great EC's and probably mediocre LORs with two or three good ones.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Dr.ImCute

Dr.ImCute Member
    5+ Year Member

I would also apply to CCOM just in case too.

but you have a good profile, and the advantage of being a resident of the state. you should be able to get in somewhere! gluck :luck:

4. Woatalk

Woatalk Member
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Given the fact that you are an in-state applicant, I feel you will have a pretty good shot of getting into at least one of these schools....considering you score somewhere around a 28 or higher on the CATs. Good luck,
    WOATALK

5. docmemi

docmemi 1K Member
    7+ Year Member