I'm poor and didn't finish high school...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dcsurgeon

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
In addition to this my username is completely misleading: I am not a surgeon in DC. However, it's a representation of what I'd like to become.

I am pretty new to the world of medicine. I'm hoping this forum can help me out along the way, since there are not many friends or family members I can turn to for guidance. I'd like to introduce you all to myself in order to get an outside opinion of where I stand in regard to getting accepted to medical school, and what I can do to improve my chances.

The title of this thread is true, I dropped out of high school in my freshman year in order to work full time. I had to support not only myself, but my mother who was struggling with a methamphetamine addiction. Thanks to this, obviously I never got a chance to try and get into a fancy university.

Blah, blah, blah, enough with the sob story. +pity+

Fast forward to my 20th birthday, my Mom was finally doing alright on her own, and obviously I was ready to get out of the deep south (where I lived during most of my life) and start my education. I took some of my savings and moved to Washington, DC. I was born in Fairfax, VA, right outside of the city and had visited DC often, so I was already familiar with the area and I knew I loved it.