IM residency vs Hospitalist fellowship after FM res, for hospital jobs in competitive areas?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fococoroco22

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN-IM. Thanks for your time.
*Posted in IM as well but I truly need advice and insight from my FM colleagues. So if a mod reads this, please don't delete. If you need to delete then please remove the post in IM.

I'm a rising PGY3 FM resident on a hospitalist training track wanting to do hospital medicine after graduation. I will graduate with approx 10 months of adult hospital medicine, 2 of which will be ICU. That's mod-high for FM, pretty low for IM, I believe.

My family live in two of the most competitive areas in the US: S. FL and S. CA. I've been away for a long time and my main goal is to be closer to them after training-- aging parents, brother and his kids, friends, etc. I know the issue of finding a job would be less difficult if they lived in more rural areas

Questions:

1. Is it UNreasonable to think that finding a solid hospitalist job, as an FM-trained freshly-minted grad, in or around LA/Miami is possible?
- If possible, do you have any job search resources or hunting advice?
- Do any of you commute 2 or more hours for your week on week off schedule? Is it rational to have two homes?
- Any thoughts on doing Locums for the first year out vs a perm job straight off?​

2. FM Hospitalist fellowship: I am strongly considering doing an FM hospitalist fellowship. However, I have no idea how much it will improve my marketability in my desired field and locations. Does it let me compete at the same level as a newly trained IM grad or will many places always hire IM only?
- If anyone here is on the hiring committee of your group would you please share how you view a FM hospitalist vs FM with hospitalist fellowship trained applicant? Would the fellowship open up a significant amount of doors in your opinion?​