IMG and DOs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stephew

SDN Super Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have to say I disagree; Do's are not favored over IMGs in my experience; its about the same and school dependent. Are you a NYCOM student? An SGU student, that kind of thing. I do think DO's however have a slight edge for ER, but not other fields. This comes from experience as well as talks with program directors. I should add in the vein of full disclosure, that Im a grad of SGU (99).
Steph

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, we know the stats. Our school does not keep it a "deep dark secret". What you have to "read in between the lines" is the US citizen thing. Programs prefer US IMG's vs. regular IMGs. Another issue is WHERE you went to school. Believe it or not, some off-shore schools are better than others(or at least have better reputations).

I also think your competitveness as a candidate depends on your overall package. Some directors and insitutions prefer an IMG with great grades and scores over a DO with mediocre scores. What happens if they both have great grades and scores? Only the director's know. Unfortunately, there are areas in the country that still look down upon DO's, just like there are places that look down upon US IMG's.