IMG Family Medicine Applicants- Match 2019

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Guyton&Hall

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm a Caribbean school graduate completely new to sdn. Couldn't find a place for IMG's applying to family medicine for this cycle. Hopefully we can get this one going and support each other during this time.

Step 1: 213
Step 2 CK: 226
Step 2 CS: Pass
Step 3: Not taken
YOG: 2018
Visa Status: U.S. Citizen

Programs Applied to: 174

Rejections: Montana
Acknowledgements: Minnesota
Interviews: None so far

I know things start of slow for us as the U.S. schools begin to hear back. Feel free to share and discuss!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users
I would not expect more than max 2 regardless of the type of applicant until MSPEs go out. Also as AMGs begin cancelling :)

Reactions: 1 user
IMG , Caribbean grad .. 2nd attempt

Step 1: 210
Step 2 CK: 236
YOG: 2017
ECFMG cert
Visa Status: Green Card , Permanent Resident

Programs Applied to: 200

Rejections: Kadlec
Acknowledgements: Univ Arkansas, Univ of Iowa .
Interviews: None

Red Flags: Took 2 years off after passing Step 1 and before starting my clinical due to financial reasons .

Members don't see this ad :)
IMG , Caribbean grad .. 2nd attempt

Step 1: 210
Step 2 CK: 236
YOG: 2017
ECFMG cert
Visa Status: Green Card , Permanent Resident

Programs Applied to: 200

Rejections: Kadlec
Acknowledgements: Univ Arkansas, Univ of Iowa .
Interviews: None

Red Flags: Took 2 years off after passing Step 1 and before starting my clinical due to financial reasons .

Thanks for sharing! Can I ask how many interviews you had last season? With the big jump in your ck score I figured chances would be very high.

Don't get too discouraged yet. It's early in the application cycle. Most of us don't bother seriously looking at applications until after October 1st when we start receiving Dean's letters.

Reactions: 5 users
What are my chances...