Importance of Anesthesiology LORs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sdnuser001

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a PGY-2 PMR resident who will be likely applying to the upcoming pain match. So far I have only worked with interventional PMR docs and my program doesn't have the ability to formally work with an anesthesia pain doc until fourth year and even then it's pretty minimal exposure and unlikely to be enough to get a LOR. How serious an issue is this? I could try to reach out to a local anesthesia pain doc but I would then be limited to shadowing as my program does not allow us to do any formal away rotations. I would assume you can't get a LOR from someone you only shadowed?

Members don't see this ad.

Is this a real Q?

Members don't see this ad :)
You should be completely freaked out and lose many hrs of sleep per night bc you're simply not competitive if you don't have an LOR from an anesthesiologist.

You should be completely freaked out and lose many hrs of sleep per night bc you're simply not competitive if you don't have an LOR from an anesthesiologist.

Was it really worth the energy typing those words to produce such a worthless response? Save it next time.

A constructive response would be this: if you are interested in applying to some of the anesthesia based programs, it would be worthwhile to shadow the anesthesia pain physician as much as possible with the goal of obtaining a letter of recommendation. Additionally, it would be really worthwhile for you to try and present as many posters as possible between now and next year. If you are really motivated, it may even make sense to take a year off and apply for the cycle after next to really boost your resume. Finally, there are plenty of non accredited spine programs through pm&r, but it will be very difficult to weed out the bad apples since these programs are not standardized.