In need of advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedGrl@2022

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently applying to medical school MD and DO. I think I am a URM because I am Puerto Rican. I got a 27 on my MCAT (9PS, 8VR, 10BS). I have a 3.78 GPA overall and in the sciences. My major was Biochemistry and my minor was Psychology. I have a lot of research experience (5 years worth) as I currently coordinate clinical protocols at the NIH. I am very non-traditional applicant that will be 28 this year and I graduated undergrad in 2007.

I am applying to: UCONN, Howard, LECOM, PCOM, Netter, UNECOM, Rowan, MSUCOM, maybe GWU and others DO schools in the area

(I have one interview and I hope to have more in the near future... I haven't finished submitting my secondaries... I hope by next week they will all be done if not 90% of them.)

I really want to stay near Maryland/DC area because I am in a serious relationship and his family is here.

I am very interested in some of the schools on my list but others I am unsure about at this time. I need advice with what to do if I get accepted into a school that I do not think is a good fit. Someone told me it is bad to reject an acceptance and then reapply for the next cycle.

I was also thinking about retaking the MCAT in January just in case but now I am thinking about taking a graduate course in neuroanatomy so I would then retake the MCAT in April if needed. Is this a bad idea? Should I not take the course and just focus on the MCAT to take in January. I wanted to take it for my job and to gain a better understanding of the brain and its components for my future medical education as well. (I work full time coordinating clinical research protocols at NIH.)