In post-bac what are my chances so far?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

brdmadgrl82

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
What are my chances for MD program?

I am currently in a post-bac program. I attend an excellent university affiliated with a medical school (classes are not as easy as I thought). I am 28 and it has been a long time since I have been in school.

I am not doing as well as I had hoped. In the spring I had a 3.4 gpa (Bio102 B+, A- in lab). Currently I am taking a full year of inorganic in the summer and I KNOW I will not get A's (thinking B's for both labs and lectures). I guess I was not use to studying chem and covering a chapter a day...maybe it just takes me longer to study than other students *sigh*

I apologize for posting this if it is a little early but I guess I am, well, worried.

My undergrad gpa wasn't bad (but I did start at a community college for the first 2yrs) I got a degree from a 4yr in psych, and I finished with a 3.87.

I did take some science classes such as: Bio 101, Human Genetics (no lab), and Infectious Diseases as electives. Would the later two count toward my gpa (they are considered as bio/science at that university)?

If the classes from my undergrad do count toward my science gpa including the college algebra and pre-calc I would be somewhere around 3.7. While not bad, I think the post-bac AND current summer classes are going to kill my gpa...and I know this will be a "downward trend" in the way it looks. I also "w"ed out of Calculus last semester and do not plan on taking it. Any advice? :idea:

I am registered to take orgo 1 and phys 1 in the fall, and orgo 2 and phys 2 in the spring...then mcat. I don't know why I rushed with the summer chem :(...but I'm here now.

Thank you all in advance for any advice or suggestions you may have.