In San Diego, need helping hand in deciding class schedules

oogin

5+ Year Member
Jul 16, 2009
Status
Pharmacy Student
Aloha,

I am pulling out my hair trying to decide what I need to do to fulfill my pre-req by 2011 winter in time to apply.

I got my degree in business awhile back, but decided to go back to school to pursue pharmacy. Currently attending UCSD as concurrent student (meaning you're not actually a student, but they let you enroll if space permits) and it is purely impossible to get into lab courses, and some of the higher level classes. Waiting list for lab courses, especially biology is miles long and UC puts UC students first before letting me enroll. (which makes sense I guess, but it really makes my life difficult)

So, I am considering going to SDSU open university program (same concept as UCSD concurrent student, but SDSU allows force enrollment, prof can say yes to you even if there are people waitlisted). SDSU has many classes that comes with lab already, and wait list is not as long.

FYI. Schools do not allow me to go back as undergrad, seeing that I already graduated undergrad from different institution.

Is there anybody out there who can give me an insight on how to proceed? I would love to stay at UCSD and I've been getting good grades so far, but enrolling in classes is pure hell every semester. It will be much easier for me to get into classes at SDSU...

I feel like I'm talking in circles, but...

Anybody went back to school to study pre-req for pharmacy? How did you handle this situation? I would really really appreciate any advise.

Thank you in advance,

FredDurst

Keep rollin' rollin'
10+ Year Member
Aug 4, 2007
Los Angeles, CA
Status
Pharmacy Student