In this topic, straight/middle class/white people talk about diversity essays

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChrisMack390

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just thought people could bounce ideas off of each other in here. My kneejerck reaction to "do you consider yourself someone who will contribute diversity to our class?" is "...not really" but that doesn't make for a very good admissions essay lol.

I am considering using one or a combination of the following ideas:

1. I am the first member of my family to get a college degree, and I come from very working class roots. My father and both grandfathers were police officers, lots of my family enlisted in the military, and the others have various "blue collar" professions. I could write about this giving me a different view of the world and more thoroughly understanding the lives of more average Americans.

2. I was a somewhat serious musician for a while. I went on tour, released an album, etc. This is my "coolest" experience, but it feels a bit convoluted wrapping it into contributing to the class. I could talk about how I practiced a skill for a million hours, interacted with all different kinds of people, and maybe even my experiences putting together concerts and festivals as a potential "contribution" to the class when the question is phrased that way.

3. I am currently working on projects related to cancer care in Africa and India, including starting up a non-profit foundation to fund related procedures in this area. This has given me some insight on cultural and other roadblocks to providing care, working with a team to start a business, etc. This is both "cool" and medically relevant, but I'm not sure that it actually makes me "diverse".

I would love feedback on my ideas and would be happy to provide some for yours!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: