Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

in turmoil- feedbacks and criticisms are greatly appreciated!!

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by Suzie, Dec 25, 2008.

1. Suzie

Pre-Medical
    .Any response would be greatly appreciated..
    . .
    .I am a sophomore at a top 20 university. I know that the rank of colleges do not matter when applying to med. School, so I am quite freaked out since all my counterparts at state universities are pulling off 3.8 and 9’s. I also messed up two semesters. .
    . .
    .Freshmen year was not as bad as I thought, B+ in chemistry, B- in biology, A- in calc, I had room for improvements, ended up with a 3.6 for the sem. Then second semester was when it all collapsed. Relationship breakup really affected my mentality, never had the courage to seek counseling, I took up drinking. Ended up with mono during finals week, and ended up with F in calc II, B- in chemistry, C- in Bio. Situations at home turned worse, parents were never encouraging, so I started sophomore yr first sem with a lot of pressure. Hoping to make my EC look better, I took up a research job 20 hours a week (I stopped drinking completely). Instead of doing better I did just the same, C+ in orgo I, B- in Neurobiology. .
    . .
    .I am starting off the next sem with optimism, and planning to finally seek counseling. I am continuing the research job over next sem, the summer and the next year. My PI has many papers planned over the next year, so I may have the chance of being included in one of the publications. I am also shadowing one of the MD fellow in the lab for two months… .
    . .