Include activities from high school (took dual enrollment)

May 11, 2020
Hi- I want sure if I could include activities from high school in my app. I’m aware that typically it’s advised not to unless continued through college.

However, I have activities that were not continued through college but I took 35 dual enrollment credits in high school (starting from the time I started my clinical ECs and lasting 4 semesters until I graduated) - would this count as “college” and allow me to include my 600 hours of clinical activity from high school?

Banco

5+ Year Member
May 28, 2014
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Nothing is stopping you from putting high school activities, but the conventional wisdom is not to do that.

With regards to dual-enrollment classes, yes those will be included in your GPA.

Reactions: 1 user
May 11, 2020
Nothing is stopping you from putting high school activities, but the conventional wisdom is not to do that.

With regards to dual-enrollment classes, yes those will be included in your GPA.
Thanks for your response.

So I understand those will be considered in my GPA. I’m asking if those ECs will be considered “high school” or “college” ECs due to the fact that I completed them while dual enrolling at a cc (took an avg of ~9 credits per semester over 4 semesters if that changes anything).

About the Ads

candbgirl

15+ Year Member
Jul 14, 2005
Status (Visible)
You were in High School when you did them. So high school. You were a High School student enrolled in Dual Enrollment courses.. (My niece is currently taking algebra at the local high school. She’s in 8th grade. Would she be considered a high school student? Nope. She’s an 8th grader.) You can certainly talk about them and tie them together in describing your path to medicine, if that is appropriate. Although you haven’t said that so maybe not. If you had 600 hours in high school, I’m sure you have more than enough current hours. Good luck.

Reactions: 1 users

EdgeTrimmer