Incredibly Confused, desperately looking for advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ConfusedFulbrightScholar

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a senior about to graduate. 3.65 cGPA, 3.42 sGPA, taking MCAT in June (First MCAT --> 23, thought I could take it after prereqs and didn't study, anyways latest diagnostic Kaplan is at around 95% percentile...I've been studying for 4 months, taking NO chances).

I'm graduating with a teaching license, and have a job secured at a High School in my home town. I'd be living with my folks, and taking classes at the local college to raise my science GPA. I'd be applying for admissions this summer (late June verification) to 25 schools.

But I know my chances, even with a great MCAT, are questionable so I am preparing for a 2nd cycle.

Yesterday morning, I got accepted for a Fulbright ETA position in an Asian country. Being a Fulbright Scholar is very prestigious, and I don't know what to do.

If I go, I'd have no post-bacc, so my GPA would stay the same. Flying between there and here for interviews is not a hinderance, I've spoken to my host country about this.

ANY ADVICE?!? FREAKING OUT! I have to say yes or no by next week.

Adcom input would be great, what would you recommend to a potential applicant? @Goro @LizzyM and any other adcoms!!

Members don't see this ad.

If you were my own child, this is what I'd say:

Take the scholarship, go and learn and teach

Then come back and retake MCAT, but only after you're fully ready.

Med schools aren't going anywhere.

I'm a senior about to graduate. 3.65 cGPA, 3.42 sGPA, taking MCAT in June (First MCAT --> 23, thought I could take it after prereqs and didn't study, anyways latest diagnostic Kaplan is at around 95% percentile...I've been studying for 4 months, taking NO chances).