Indiana University SOM vs. University of Virginia SOM - How to weigh personal vs. academic/professional factors?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wandering_wondering

Reaction score
First post ever here, and I need your help! Should I choose Indiana University SOM (Indianapolis campus) or the University of Virginia SOM (Charlottesville)?

Important info: I am a semi-nontraditional student (25 y/o w/ an MS in public health and nonprofit work experience). I am very passionate about public health and am interested in preventative medicine and obstetrics/gynecology. I have scholarship offers at both, so there is not a significant difference in price. I think that UVASOM is definitely a bit of a better school on paper. That being said, I do not think I would receive an inferior education at IUSM or have lesser residency opportunities.

My largest point of conflict is that I like UVASOM better as a school based on the interview day, but I have compelling reasons to stay in my home state of Indiana (i.e. my partner, parents, extended family, and siblings live here = greater social support). My partner is supportive of whatever decision I make, but we would have to do long distance while I am in school. We did this for a year previously while I was living out of the country, but it would definitely place stress on our relationship to reenter another long distance situation.

Does anyone have any advice? Have you been in a similar situation? How do I decide between what would possibly be a more comfortable decision (IU) and a school I like better (UVA)?

Members don't see this ad.

I vote for UVA - better reputation, smaller class, more research opportunities, etc. Plus, IU left a really bad taste in my mouth with their disorganized and disrespectful interview cycle. Just my 2 cents.