info on ortho programs in the southeast?-musc, uab, ut, vanderbilt, uga

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FreezinInBoston

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey everyone! I'm new to this- I'm a third year dental student and will be applying to ortho residencies this fall.

I was wondering if anyone knows anything or has visited these particular residencies for orthodontics-
MUSC, UAB, UTenn, Vanderbilt, UGA

If you go to any or have visited I would really like to hear your opinion of the programs! Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

MUSC= Brand new program so probably not much is out there on this program; 1st class will start this summer

Vanderbilt= Great city to live in; Motto of the program "See 1, Do 1, Teach 1": To me, this meant that there wasn't enough faculty or structure for the program

UAB= Great city to live in once again; 3 years; Good even distribution of clinic and research; Great faculty; Lots of techniques utilized; FYI: I do not attend this program, but went to dental school there

UGA= UGA does not have a program, you are probably asking of MCG (Medical College of Georgia); Augusta is not the greatest place to be, but anyone can live anywhere for 2-3 years and to be called an orthodontist; Good well-rounded program; If you are not from South Carolina or Georgia, chances are slim to none that you will get in there

UTenn= Memphis campus is kind of in the ghetto; a lot of wire-bending/Tweed

MUSC= Brand new program so probably not much is out there on this program; 1st class will start this summer

Vanderbilt= Great city to live in; Motto of the program "See 1, Do 1, Teach 1": To me, this meant that there wasn't enough faculty or structure for the program

UAB= Great city to live in once again; 3 years; Good even distribution of clinic and research; Great faculty; Lots of techniques utilized; FYI: I do not attend this program, but went to dental school there