inguinal anatomy is mad confusing

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PostCall

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
am i the only one who thinks inguinal anatomy is confusing? sometimes i think i finally got it down cold, only to realize i don't know it as well as i thought. i did very well in anatomy during med school too. i have heard an inguinal hernia repair is an intern level case. does that mean u should be able to do an inguinal hernia repair independently by the time u finish internship?

Members don't see this ad.

I studied the inguinal region (via dissections and Netter's) over and over again...and was still confused during my first several inguinal hernia repairs. I don't think I truly felt comfortable with the anatomy until my 15th hernia, and didn't feel comfortable taking a junior through the case until around my 30th.

Wait until u see it a lap hernia repair, u wnt knw ur heads form toes lol
But i second Buzz Me's reply, really hard to learn the anatomy even when it's right in front of ya

Members don't see this ad :)
am i the only one who thinks inguinal anatomy is confusing? sometimes i think i finally got it down cold, only to realize i don't know it as well as i thought. i did very well in anatomy during med school too. i have heard an inguinal hernia repair is an intern level case. does that mean u should be able to do an inguinal hernia repair independently by the time u finish internship?

The inguinal canal is very difficult anatomy. I recommend the Nyhus Hernia book, by Fitzgibbons (Creighton). I read it as an intern and it really helped me to understand things better. It can usually be found in your school's library.